MassageOnline.net Forum
MassageOnline.net Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 The Business of Massage
 General Discussion - The Business of Massage
 employee/independent contractor problems

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert Email Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Check here to subscribe to this topic.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
stokes Posted - January 25 2007 : 12:32:05 AM
I am a massage therapist working on the central coast of California for the past 13 years. I have had a private practice and also work for a hotel/spa. In the past my coworkers and I have always been independent contractors. While we continue to be independent contractors, as the industry is growing in our area, the contracts we are required to sign are turning us in to employees without the benefits. We can no longer choose how many hours a day we will work. We are now required to work two weekends a month which means Friday, Saturday and Sunday and seven out of eleven holidays a year including Christmas. The year is broken up in to the first six months and the last six months. As it works out you either have to work thanksgiving day or Christmas day. With our new contract we are going to be required to give one free massage or facial a month to the staff at the facility where we work. Those who have refused to give away their work had their contract terminated. During our busy time of year we do five hours of massage in a six hour shift .We ge