General Discussion - The Business of Massage
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

forrey
Starting Member

1 Posts

Posted - March 16 2005 :  5:00:14 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm a newly licensed therapist with an opportunity to work at a small spa/salon (estheticians, manicurists, etc... no hair stylists). While I would prefer to rent space, she would like to pay me a cut of each massage. This is a high-end joint, so a cut will still be a nice chunk of change, but can anyone guide me as to what the 'standard' percentage is? 50/50? 40/60? ....hopefully not 30/70 (unless it's in my favor, of course).

She will be providing all my clients (since I'm brand-spankin' new)- how much does that play into it?

Thanks for your input!

inspiredtouch

USA
11 Posts

Posted - March 18 2005 :  12:54:22 PM  Show Profile  Visit inspiredtouch's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hello,

This percentage will be different depending on what part of the world you are in. But if you think about it - if you have no clients on your own - then having 100% of your cut of your own generated work would be nothing. So any cut of some work elsewhere would probably be most welcome. All you can do is negotiate in good faith and hope the owner understands just how much work is involved in each session.

Don't be afraid to negotiate and discuss the split with the owner/manager. Unless they have been doing this for a long time they may not know what to pay either. If they have been paying unfairly in the past then most likely that is why they are looking for someone to do the work now.

Bottom line: Don't be afraid to discuss everything up front.